

# **Editorial Office**

Gary White, Editor, American Association of Physics Teachers, College Park, MD, and The George Washington University, Washington, DC

Ben Lefstein, Managing Editor, American Association of Physics Teachers, College Park, MD 20740-3845; 301-209-3307; tpt@aapt.org

Jessica Hernandez, Guest Associate Editor for Climate Change and Sustainability Collection, University of Washington, Seattle, WA

Joe Kozminski, Guest Associate Editor for Climate Change and Sustainability Collection, Lewis University, Romeoville, IL

James Lincoln, Guest Associate Editor for Climate Change and Sustainability Collection, PhysicsVideos.com, Newport Beach, CA

Frank Lock, Guest Associate Editor for Climate Change and Sustainability Collection, retired, PhysTEC, Georgia State University

Dan MacIsaac, Guest Associate Editor for Climate Change and Sustainability Collection, SUNY-Buffalo State University, Buffalo, NY

# **Production and Advertising**

David Wolfe, Director of Communications

Jane Chambers, Sr. Publications Editor, jchamber@aapt.org

Dan Cooke, Advertising, dcooke@aip.org; Debbie Bott, dbott@aip.org

AAPT, One Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740-3845; 301-209-3322

### **Editorial Board**

Bradley Allen, Brighton High School, Rochester, NY

Janelle Bailey, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA

Geraldine Cochran, Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ

Dan Crowe, Loudon Academy of Science, Leesburg, VA

Greg DiLisi, John Carroll University, University Heights, OH

Steve Kanim, New Mexico State University (emeritus), Las Cruces, NM

Tony Musumba, Riverside City College, Riverside, CA

Carl Mungan, U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD

Kelly O'Shea, Little Red School House & Elisabeth Irwin High School, New York, NY

Arlisa Richardson, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, Chandler, AZ

Marianna Ruggerio, Auburn High School, Rockford, IL

Rebecca Vieyra, Inter-American Teacher Education Network

And the Survey Says ..., Susan C. White, AIP, College Park, MD

AstroNotes, Janelle M. Bailey, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA, and Donald A. Smith, Guilford College, Greensboro, NC

Fermi Questions, John Adam, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA

Figuring Physics, Paul G. Hewitt, City College of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

iPhysicsLabs, Jochen Kuhn, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich), and

Patrik Vogt, Institute of Teacher Training (ILF), Mainz, Germany

Just Physics?, Deepak Iyer, Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA

Physics Challenge for Teachers and Students, Boris Korsunsky, Weston H.S., Weston, MA

Talkin' Physics, James Lincoln, Physics Videos.com, Newport Beach, CA

WebSights, Dan MacIsaac, SUNY-Buffalo State College, Buffalo, NY

The Physics Teacher (ISSN: 0031-921x) is published monthly except June, July, and August by AAPT. Postmaster: Periodicals postage paid at College Park, MD and additional mailing offices, Canadian Postal No: PM# 40023546. Send address changes to AAPT, Member Services Department, The Physics Teacher, 1 Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740-3845; 301-209-3333. American Association of Physics Teachers, 1 Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740-3845. It is indexed in the Education Index and Current Index to Journals in Education. ©2021 American Association of Physics Teachers. Printed in the U.S.A. AAPT and THE PHYSICS TEACHER are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of The American Association of Physics Teachers, Inc.

Single copies of individual articles may be made for private use or research. Authorization is given to copy articles beyond the use permitted by Sections 107 and 108 of the U.S. Copyright Law, provided the copying fee of \$30 per copy of an article is paid to the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Dr., Danvers, MA 01923, USA. Persons desiring to photocopy materials for classroom handouts may do so provided that the students do not have to pay for the materials or pay to attend the class. If students must pay for materials or to attend the class, persons desiring to make photocopies should contact the CCC Academic Permissions Service. For those using Transactional Reporting Service, the Item Fee Code for this publication is 0031-921x/23 \$30.

### Claims:

Claims for missing issues must be filed within 30 days for journals mailed to addresses in the United States. Claims for missing issues mailed to all other countries must be filed within 60 days. AAPT reserves the right to review multiple claims. There will be a fee for replacement of issues outside of the claim period. To report a missing issue or request a replacement copy, contact subs@aip.org.

# **AAPT Board of Directors**

Duane B. Merrill. President Brigham Young University Provo, UT

Kelli L. Warble. President-Elect Arizona State University Tempe, AZ

**Gabriel C. Spalding,** Vice President Illinois Wesleyan University Bloomington, IL

D. Blane Baker, Secretary William Jewell College Liberty, MO

Thomas L. O'Kuma, Treasurer Lee College Baytown, TX

Toni Sauncy, Past President Texas Lutheran University Seguin, TX

Samuel Sampere

Chair of Section Representatives Syracuse University Syracuse, NY

Richard Gelderman, Vice Chair of Section Representatives Western Kentucky University Bowling Green, KY

Mario Belloni

Davidson College, Davidson, NC

Marianna Ruggerio At-Large High School Representative Auburn High School, Rockford IL

Krista E. Wood

At-Large Two-Year College Representative University of Cincinnati Blue Ash College Cincinnati, OH

**Darsa Donelan** 

At-Large Early Career Representative Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN

**Gary D. White** (ex officio) Editor, *The Physics Teacher* 

Beth Parks (ex officio) Editor, Amer. Journal of Physics

Beth A. Cunningham (ex officio) **AAPT Chief Executive Officer** 

## **Publications Committee**

D. Blane Baker. Chair William Jewell College Liberty, MO

Samuel Sampere Syracuse University Syracuse, NY

Thomas L. O'Kuma Lee College Baytown, TX

**Toni Sauncy** 

Texas Lutheran University Seguin, TX

Mario Belloni Davidson College Davidson, NC

Marianna Ruggerio Auburn High School, Rockford IL

Bruce A. Mason University of Oklahoma

**Beth Parks** Cornell University Corning, NY

Gary D. White

Norman, OK

AAPT, College Park, MD, and George Washington University, Washington, DC

Beth A. Cunningham (ex officio) AAPT Chief Executive Officer

Robert C. Hilborn (ex officio) AAPT David H. Wolfe (ex officio) AAPT